Council, Committees and Local Boards

Council is responsible for the governance of the Town of South Bruce Peninsula, guided by provincial legislation. Council establishes policies and budgets for programs and services delivered by the Town of South Bruce Peninsula.

A number of committees have been established to assist Council in carrying out its duties. These committees consider issues within their scope and make recommendations to Council or other committees, or exercise the authority delegated by Council.  Committees have an approved Terms of Reference and operate within the procedures established by Council.

Local boards are established in accordance with legislation and have specific mandates.  Examples are the Police Services Board and the Wiarton BIA.